Is Venom an alter ego of Spiderman?

So I just saw the trailer of Spiderman 3 and I am guessing, that the character Venom will be involved. Now is Venom a completely different character or is he infact Spiderman?

I remember watching the Spiderman cartoon series a few years back and if I recall Venom was some type of Alien Rock that attached itself to Spiderman and then intereferd in Spidermans mutation process (something like that). Then someone said to me that Venom was infact a completely different character. In the Spiderman 3 trailer Venom looked like the ‘dark side’ of Spiderman.

So, myself and my friends are now throughly confused, if anyone can clear this up it will be greatley appreciated.

4 Responses to “Is Venom an alter ego of Spiderman?”

  1. Justin Says:

    Dude, I know what you mean, I can’t frigging figure it out. I do remember that at one point in the series Venom was the darkside of Spiderman, BUT, I think that eventually when spiderman gets rid of this ‘bad side’ of himself, venom evolves into his own being.

    That’s purely speculation from what I remember 😀

  2. Maz Says:

    I guess i’ll just have to wait for the film!

  3. PapaSmurf Says:

    okay, Venom is a symbiot. It first attached itself to spiderman, the suit gave him super strength and enhanced his spider abilities, but it also was slowly taking controll of him. So he got rid of it it by using it’s weakness, loud noises. Then it went off and attached itself to Eddy Brock, who also had a grudge against spiderman, for getting him fired. The symbiot, while it was attached to spiderman, absorbed some of his DNA, thus taking some of his powers. So, the new venom gives Eddy Brock some of spiderman’s powers, plus way more strength and ajility than spiderman. Oh, and venom didn’t come from a rock, in the secret wars, spiderman ruined his costume, and so a machine gave him the venom suit, but that was in the comics, in the movie, they probably will go with the rock from space idea.

  4. Maz Says:

    thanks for making that clear, i appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

