I think my ipod is making me go deaf

I bought my ipod nano in february of this year (2006). Lately I have been having trouble with my right ear. It always seems to end up blocked, I stopped using my ipod for a time and it eventually cleared up, I then started using my ipod again after this and now my right ear has blocked up again. It doesn’t clear for a few days and when I touch it, it hurts.

I do not think there has been any research done to prove this, but I really do believe that mp3 players are making us go deaf. We will be a generation full of hearing problems because of the mp3’s and mobile phones.

Maybe it’s not the actual listening to music, maybe its more the headphones. The headphones that ship with ipods for example are the type of headphones that are being inserted into the ear as opposed to more comfortable headphones that just site on the ear. Maybe it would be worth investing in some headphones that do not go anywhere near my ear canal.
Or maybe it is the volume I listen to my music at, compared to my friend who listens to her ipod at full blast I play mine at whisper level.

Interesting Articles:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/4162028.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/5311868.stm

http://www.technewsworld.com/story/51942.html

8 Responses to “I think my ipod is making me go deaf”

  1. Ipod nano Blog Digest - I think my ipod is making me go deaf Says:

    […] Posted by MazI think it’s goodLink to original article […]

  2. Darren Says:

    Hello,
    What do I have to do, to make an audiobook file appear on the audiobook folder on my iPod?
    I didn't get it how does it work.
    Is there a special extension for audiobooks, because I've tried to convert to ACC (tutorial on this forum) but it didn't work.
    Please, help me.
    Thanks

  3. Skylar Says:

    Hi everyone.
    What's a good alternative to the IPOD?
    I'm wondering if any of you can recommend a good MP3 player that is comparable to the IPod but WITHOUT they hype and price tabe to go with it.
    I was at the apple store a few days ago, and really liked the new 40GB or 80GB IPods that also show video, but was wondering if I could get the same kind of funcationality without that heftly price tag.

  4. Jeff Says:

    I am also going deaf as a result of using sony in the ear phones. I’m very upset about this because I already have a loss in my left ear as it is.

    I listen at a very normal level yet my ears still hurt. I think the pain is a result pressure on the inner ear caused by the ‘in the ear’ phones. I think the desgin of the ‘in the ear’ phones themselves causes you to go deaf.

    Let’s start a class action. What? What did you say?

    Deaf Jeff

  5. Jeff Says:

    Actually my ‘in the ear’ phones are Radio Shack brand, not Sony. My mistake.

  6. Jeff Says:

    An article which may provide a solution and insight to this problem:

    http://www.headwize.com/articles/hearing_art.htm

  7. Maz Says:

    thanks for your comments Jeff that article is interesting.

  8. Lunch Bags Says:

    those generic mp3 players that are made in china are really cheap but i still prefer to use my ipod ;””


Leave a Reply

